2020 Queens Birthday Honours for our community

This is an image of Professor Ian Harper AO
Renowned Australian economist Professor Ian Harper AO was one of eight BEL Faculty alumni on the 2020 Queen's Birthday Honours list.

A renowned economist and a Supreme Court of Queensland judge were among many University of Queensland community members recognised in the 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Within UQ’s Faculty of Business, Economics and Law, eight alumni received honours for making positive contributions to their local and global communities.

The annual list celebrates Australia’s finest philanthropists, leaders, activists, researchers and visionaries and their contributions to Australia.

BEL Faculty Executive Dean Professor Andrew Griffiths congratulated all BEL awardees. 

“During this time of uncertainty and upheaval, these awards remind us that many members of our BEL community are always working to support, uplift and create change for those in need,” Professor Griffiths said.

“I am proud to represent this group of extraordinary leaders and advocates for innovation, justice and education.

“Thank you for all you do.”

2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours list | BEL Faculty community

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Professor Ian Harper AO | Bachelor of Economics (Honours) ’78, Bachelor of Economics ’77

For distinguished service to education in the field of economics, and to public and monetary policy development and reform.

Professor Harper AO is dean and director of Melbourne Business School and dean of the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Business and Economics. An Australian economist well known for his work in public policy, he is a current board member of the Reserve Bank of Australia and a member of the Council on Economic Policy, Committee for Economic Development of Australia. He holds several other professional roles and affiliations, including Distinguished Public Policy Fellow of the Economic Society of Australia and chair of the stipends committee of the Anglican Diocese of Melbourne.

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

The Honourable Justice Peter Applegarth AM | Bachelor of Laws (Honours) ’81, Bachelor of Arts ’79

For significant service to the law, and to the judiciary, and to social justice.

The Hon Justice Applegarth AM was appointed a judge of the Supreme Court of Queensland in 2008. He is a council member of the Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration, a fellow of the Australian Academy of Law, a part-time lecturer at UQ Law School, Patron of the UQ Pro Bono Centre and member of the Faculty Advisory Board at Griffith Law School.

Ms Elizabeth Jameson AM | Bachelor of Laws (Honours) ’88, Bachelor of Arts ’85

For significant service to business, and to the community.

Ms Jameson AM is the managing director of Board Matters Pty Ltd, a professional governance consultancy. She holds a number of board directorships including Queensland Police Service, and she is a board member of Brisbane Girls Grammar School. Ms Jameson AM is also the director, vice-president and deputy chair of RACQ, chair of the Queensland Theatre Company and director of the Pinnacle Foundation.

Mr Kenneth MacPherson AM | Bachelor of Laws ’66

For significant service to public administration, particularly through executive legal roles.

Mr MacPherson AM formerly held many roles in public administration, including Acting Ombudsman for South Australia and Auditor-General of the South Australian Auditor-General’s Department. He was special counsel for the Australian Attorney-General’s Department in 2007. He is also the former chairman and board member of the South Australian Baptist Homes for the Aged.

Mr David Muir AM | Bachelor of Laws ’78, Bachelor of Economics ’76

For significant service to the community through welfare, social justice and charitable organisations.

Mr Muir AM is the founding director of Foodbank Queensland, chair of The Clem Jones Group and chair of Real Republic Australia. He also founded Amnesty International Queensland, was the founding director of Crime Stoppers Queensland and assisted with the foundation of Foodbank Australia. He was a partner at HWL Ebsworth Lawyers for ten years.

Mr David Slater AM | Bachelor of Laws ’73, Bachelor of Commerce ’71, Bachelor of Arts ’69

For significant service to the community through social welfare and arts organisations.

Mr Slater AM is patron and supporter of the Queensland Youth Orchestra, supporter of the Queensland Art Gallery/Gallery of Modern Art Foundation and chairperson of Eyeline Magazine. He is also chairperson of the finance and development committee, St Ignatius Roman Catholic Parish in Brisbane, among other roles, and has worked in stockbroking and securities for almost 40 years.

Medal (OAM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Mr Donald Griffin OAM | Graduate Diploma in Journalism ’07, Master of Business Administration ’86

For service to the accounting profession, and to athletics.

Mr Griffin OAM is the CEO of Etax Local and Etax Accountants and the principal of Griffin Group Accountants. He holds many advisory positions and professional affiliations, including adviser for IR Global and member of the Tax Practitioner Digital Implementation Group at the ATO. He is also the founder and CEO of Seaforth Pines Outdoor Education and Conference Centre, co-founder of Lest We Forget Runs and co-patron of River City Runners Brisbane.

Ms Dalma Jacobs OAM | Bachelor of Economics ’65

For service to women in tertiary education.

Ms Jacobs OAM plays an integral role in Graduate Women Australia. Currently, she is a representative of the National Women’s Alliance, Economic Security4Women and the ABS Gender Statistics Advisory Group. She is also the regional director (ACT) of the ABS. Ms Jacobs was formerly President and Vice-President of Alumni Friends of The University of Queensland.

Read more about the 2020 Queen’s Birthday honourees from UQ | See the full list of 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Contact: BEL Communications, media@bel.uq.edu.au

Last updated:
7 July 2021